Being Marcia Wasn’t A Barrel Of Monkeys, Maureen McCormick Pens Her Memoir

She may have been the beloved Marcia Brady but Maureen McCormick’s real life has been nothing like a fun loving sitcom. McCormick has just penned her memoir about the dark side of being Marcia.

On Tuesday bookstores will be selling “Here’s the Story: Surviving Marcia Brady and Finding My True Voice.” Readers will get the backstage view of a life out of control.

McCormick was 14 when she landed the role that would make her a household name. She starred as the oldest daughter, Marcia Brady on “The Brady Bunch.” The show ran from 1969 to 1974. Marcia Brady was the ‘perfect’ teenager, beautiful, smart and wholesome. Maureen McCormick’s private life was a whole different story.

She lived with her parents and four older siblings. According to McCormick her father was abusive to their mother and cheated on her.

Yahoo quotes McCormick:

“As a teenager, I had no idea that few people are everything they present to the outside world,” she writes in the book, published by William Morrow. “Yet there I was, hiding the reality of my life behind the unreal perfection of Marcia Brady. … No one suspected the fear that gnawed at me even as I lent my voice to the chorus of Bradys singing, `It’s a Sunshine Day.'”

After the party of being a Brady ended McCormick took up a party girl life. She filled her days with drug addiction making a future acting career waste away.

The memoir will take readers on a drug hazed journey of dating superstars, partying with the rich and drugged to the interventions, rehab and finally sobriety.

“I’ll always be struck by how much a part of people’s lives Marcia is and always will be. But now I’m not bothered by the connection. It took most of my life, countless mistakes and decades of pain and suffering to reach this point of equanimity and acceptance,” she says.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

