Facebook Group Wants to Help Poverty Issues But Is It Legal?

When an enterprising young woman teams up with a Salvation Army Church the results could be wonderful. That was the goal of Jane with a Facebook group, now defunct, in support of the fight against poverty’.
A Facebook group said it wanted to take a stab against poverty. This Web design group wanted to use Salvation Army Agincourt Community Church as the group that the group will benefit. But the problem though is that the church was in the dark.

Jane has since closed the group and partnered with another church.

Young Jane runs an international web design company dedicated to promoting the growth of businesses.

The Agincourt Community Church is a member of the Ontario Central Division of the Salvation Army.

The Facebook group wanted to support of the fight against poverty’ has two goals. The first is the welfare of adults and children living in poverty around the world. The second is to help a young woman with her business.

The premise of the group wanted to place an ad at the company’s website in any province and in any category of your choice. A contribution of $10 will be taken from each ad purchased and all ad contributions will be donated at the end of every month to the Salvation Army.

Individuals not needing an ad can still contribute to the mission by selecting add listing category and writing the description of ad as contribution.

Jane talks to potential clients to see what their website needs and goals are. she then gets with her web designer to put out a web site that reflects those goals. As for the Facebook group Jane’s main goal was to raise awareness of the struggles families are facing in these tough economic times. When deciding on a charity to work with she first considered World Vision but in the end choose a local Salvation Army Church. As Jane says: ” I want to reach people in my own community and knew that this group could work well with people’s own community.”

As I talked to Jane I could tell she was very committed to the cause but wondered if everything was completely on the level. She hadn’t been in contact with the church herself and that left me curious.

Those are worthy goals but when I spoke to Captain Darlene Anderson of the Agincourt Community Church she was in the dark about this Facebook group. Anderson said that she will be investigating the group further. Jane said she still had to contact Agincourt, but when she did, she instead decided to partner with Cedarbrae Community Church in Toronto.

Jane said the Church is embracing the idea of partnering with her cause.

17 votes

7 responses to “Facebook Group Wants to Help Poverty Issues But Is It Legal?

  • Facebook Group Wants to Help Poverty Issues But Is It Legal? | www.business-on.info

    […] Excerpt from:  Facebook Group Wants to Help Poverty Issues But Is It Legal? […]

  • janei2

    I am the lady who started the facebook cause and did so with good intentions. I had started the cause perhaps a day or 2 before a lady by the name of KJ Mullins contacted me wanting do an article on the cause. I was happy and at the time considered her to be a God sent as i discussed with her my vision and passion for raising awareness about the plight facing many families in the recession. I answered every question she wanted and joyfully thanked her for her enthusiasm and interest. Being naiive about the causes application on facebook, i was not aware that i could not choose a beneficiary for the cause without making contact with the charitable organization and so i immediately contacted the church, after KJ Mullins had called them. I told them that a lady wanted to write an article about my cause and seems very enthusiastic about it and that i would love for them to give me the thumbs up for my cause so that the lady would not lose her momentum to publish the article.Im not sure the lady even knew what facebook meant and so i decided to contact another salvation army church immediately and seek approval for them to become the new beneficiary which i gained the following morning and contacted KJ mullins to tell her that she can go ahead with the article as the future of the cause would be contingent upon approval. I didnt know that KJ Mullins would rush to judgement and write an article the same day she had called me though i told her to wait until i get approval. I was very shocked 2 days later after the cause had been moving along successfully when i found that KJ Mullins had written an article shedding my mission and goals in a bad light. I have now chosen to close down the cause but i will not give up in my passion to let the world know there is a need out there to help people who have lost jobs during this recession. I will not stand by and watch someone portray my cause in a negative light as this seems to be a rush to judgement and conclusion. Thank you for listening.

  • momentsintime

    Actually I called Jane back after talking to the Salvation Army informing her that there were legal implications and that the nature of the article would be changing. I did not paint this young woman in a bad light other than perhaps show that she may have been naive.

  • janei2

    KJ, YOUR ARTICLE IS NOT ETHICAL AND I DO NOT AGREE WITH YOU BECAUSE EVEN THE TITLE OF YOUR ARTICLE SUGGESTS SOME OTHER KIND OF MOTIVES BEHIND MY CAUSE. IM NOT A FOOL ABOUT WHAT YOU WROTE AND I NOW KNOW EXACTLY WHAT YOU MEANT BY SAYING YOU WOULD CHANGE THE ANGLE OF MY ARTICLE. I WILL NOT SIT HERE AND ALLOW YOU TO TARNISH MY GOOD NAME. ALTHOUGH ANOTHER SALVATION ARMY EMBRACED MY CHURCH I CHOSE TO CLOSE DOWN THE CAUSE BECAUSE OF SOMEONE LIKE YOU.

  • momentsintime

    Jane face the facts you did something wrong. You were caught on it. Not only did I write about you in a positive manner I contacted you when I discovered the legal implications of your actions thus protecting you.

    Further comments will be deleted for this article.

  • janei2

    When someone starts something good, there will always be someone out there that will try to stop it.Its ok to correct someone on a mistake, however the issue is how you go about correcting it.Do you do it in an honourable way or do you do it any way that might have future implications for the person especially when you have deduced that the intentions behind it are just, and that appropriate steps have been taken.We all use facebook but not all of us may be aware of every little legality of starting something like a cause. Perhaps thats the angle you should have written this article instead of rushing to cast seeds of doubt on the first day of contact with me.I have nothing to hide because of i took steps to get approval from another church so that you would maintain the momentum to publish the article. I will never attach my name to something if its not something i believe in. Cedarbrae Community church understood my initiative and Joan Harry told me that i could come in anytime i want to meet them.

  • janei2

    So this article is still up. Ok now im pissed off and i will look into a possible suit for character defamation.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

