Stephen Colbert is Off to Baghdad

Comedian Stephen Colbert has gone to Iraq to entertain the troops a la Bob Hope. There will be four shows of The Colbert Report that will air next week from Baghdad.
The shows will have about 450 audience members and have been dubbed “Operation Iraqi Stephen: Going Commando.” The shows will be the first time any show has been broadcast from Iraq for an USO tour.

Colbert is a staunch supporter of the troops overseas. He has helped to raise hundreds of thousands of dollars for the Yellow Ribbon Fund that helps those injured in the war and their families.

AP reports:

“Sometimes my character and I agree,” Colbert said in an interview at his Manhattan office before leaving for Baghdad. “My character and I both know the Apostles’ Creed and my character and I both think it’s a shame that we’re not talking about the troops anymore.”

While Colbert has let it slip that a trip was in the works for a while the exact location was not disclosed.

In March viewers of The Colbert Report were told that Colbert was taking up an invitation from U.S. troops. As Washington Wire reports the comedian said:

“Long ago,” the comedian said, “I made myself a promise– a promise that I would do whatever was asked of me by someone holding an automatic weapon.”

“The Colbert Report” will be sending 30 production staff for the show in Iraq. That is a third of the regular staff. The shows will air Monday through Thursday next week.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

