Cheney’s memoir due in 2011

Threshold Editions, a division of Simon and Schuster has signed a book deal with former Vice President Dick Cheney. Cheney’s memoir is due to be released a few months after President George W. Bush’s is due to hit the stores.
The book, yet to be titled will cover his career in government from when he served as President Ford’s chief of staff through his Bush years. The book will also cover Cheney’s involvement as chief executive officer of the oilfield services provider, Halliburton Co.

AP quotes Cheney:

“I’m persuaded there are a lot of interesting stories that ought to be told,” Cheney said. “I want my grandkids, 20 or 30 years from now, to be able to read it and understand what I did, and why I did it.”

Cheney is said to be writing the book in longhand and on his computer with the help of his daughter Liz Cheney.

Generally books written by vice presidents do not attract much public interest. In the case of Dick Cheney however, it is expected that his memoir will be a best seller.

Its speculated that the deal will fetch Cheney about $2 million.

“He knows he’s called Darth Vader,” said Simon & Schuster’s Carolyn Reidy. “He’s aware of how he’s been portrayed. But I didn’t feel any defensiveness when I met with him. I remember thinking, `I can see why four presidents gave him very responsible jobs in their administrations.'”

You must be logged in to post a comment.

